‘To receive this award is such an honour… It means so much because, in the early stages, it was librarians and readers who voted me onto the longlist. I grew up in a home that had few books. Libraries were very important to me… It breaks my heart that we are losing so many, along with the expertise of professional librarians who can, and do, deliver so much more than books on shelves. I have campaigned long and hard to keep them open. I’d like to take this opportunity to thank them for all the support they have given me.’
Mari Hannah, Winner of the CWA Dagger in the Library 2017

Promoting crime writing, together with:

The Dagger in the Library is a prize for a body of work by a crime writer that users of libraries particularly admire. It is one of the most prestigious crime writing awards in the UK and previous winners include Elly Griffiths, Christopher Fowler, Sharon Bolton, Belinda Bauer, Mo Hayder, Colin Cotteril, Craig Russel, Stuart MacBride, Jake Arnott, Alexander McCall Smith, Stephen Booth, Peter Robinson and Lindsey Davis.

Nominating Authors for the CWA Dagger in the Library 2018

Librarians and staff members at libraries are invited to nominate British authors for the Dagger in the Library.

Up to three members of any one library may nominate. To do so, enter the portal below, but first, please read the criteria. A vote for an author who does not match the criteria is a wasted vote!

This year, we’ve tweaked the criteria.

  1. Only British, living authors who have published at least 10 crime books, fiction or non-fiction, with the first book being published in 2008 or earlier, can be considered. In 2018 we want the Dagger in the Library to reward those who have given most pleasure to library users over the years.
  2. No author who has been shortlisted for the Dagger in the Library in 2017 or 2016 is eligible. The shortlists can be found here: 2017 shortlist | 2016 shortlist.
  3. No author who has ever won the Diamond Dagger is eligible. The list is here.
  4. We’d also like an emphasis to be laid on those authors who have given support to British libraries over their careers. So if an eligible author has given talks at your library, or publicly supported libraries, please recognise their support with a nomination.

The longlist will be made up of those authors who gain most voters, and who the judges believe best fulfil Criterion 4. Find out more about the judges here.

Up to three librarians or staff members can vote individually from each library. Voting is open until 28 February 2018 from the portal below. It’s easy, but please make sure you’re not voting for an author who isn’t eligible.

Any librarian who finds they’ve voted for an ineligible author is welcome to nominate again, as only the eligible vote will count against their name.

Vote now

*Please note: only one nomination per library staff member, and only three per library.

Ineligible Authors

Shortlisted for Dagger in the Library 2016 & 2017
Tony Black
Alison Bruce
Kate Ellis
Tana French
Elly Griffiths (Winner 2016)
Mari Hannah (Winner 2017)
Quintin Jardine
James Oswald
CJ Sansom
Andrew Taylor

CWA Diamond Dagger Winners
John le Carré
Val McDermid
Frederick Forsyth
Peter Lovesey
Sara Paretsky
Lawrence Block
Ian Rankin
John Harvey
Sue Grafton
Andrew Taylor
Lindsey Davis
Lee Child
Catherine Aird
Simon Brett
Peter James
Ann Cleeves

Please do not nominate any ineligible authors as stated above. Your vote will not count!

Would your library be interested in a visit from a crime writer?

Would you like to receive the Crime Readers' Association eNewsletter and ezine Case Files?

The longlists of CWA Dagger in the Library will be announced at CrimeFest in May 2018.

Did you know May was National Crime Writing Month? Find out more.


Would you like posters and leaflets for your library? Click here.

Ian Fleming
Powered by WishList Member - Membership Software